Premium reports Regulatory report: local e-cig regulation developing in Taiwan

Regulatory report: local e-cig regulation developing in Taiwan


In total, 22 administrative divisions are directly governed by the central government (Executive Yuan) in Taiwan. According to the Local Government Act of Taiwan, there are three types of sub-national divisions: special municipalities (Taipei, New Taipei, Kaohsiung, Taichung, Tainan and Taoyuan), cities and counties. These divisions have a degree of autonomy. They have government offices with elected leaders and local councils, which share responsibilities with the county.

While the revision of the national Tobacco Hazards Prevention Act takes place, a draft of local electronic cigarette regulation is under legislative process in five of the six special municipalities in Taiwan and other cities. Tainan is the only special municipality that has not started developing a local electronic cigarette regulation. Local electronic cigarette legislation is not in force in most cities so far. This report will focus on the local electronic cigarette legislation in the five special municipalities (Taipei, New Taipei, Kaohsiung, Taichung and Taoyuan) and Hsinchu (the first city where its autonomous regulation on electronic cigarettes is in force).

No. of pages: 11

Photo: shutterbean



1 Executive summary
2 Regulatory landscape
3 Taichung
4 Taipei
5 New Taipei
6 Kaohsiung
7 Taoyuan
8 Hsinchu
9 Relevant laws
10 Relevant authorities